Congratulations to BVNW’s National Merit Scholars

Cara Brashears, Online Editor

The following BVNW students scored a 216 or above on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) last October, qualifying them as National Merit Semifinalists:

Michelle Chen
Kate Hartman
Amanda House
Veronica McKinney
Ami Nanavaty
Grant Sander
Charlie Welsh

These students will be considered for a National Merit Scholarship. Finalists are determined in February, and the winners of the Merit Scholarship are awarded based on a variety of abilities, skills and accomplishments.

Commended Students, who scored from a 203-215:

Austin Bachar
Mackenzie Beaman
Cara Brashears
Jack Chen
Kyle Gilmore
Thomas Gorham
Sweta Mahapatra
Eric Osburn
Jay Shah
Adam Smith
Sam Weber

These students will not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, but do have the chance to become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Congratulations to these students for their outstanding academic performance!